March 22, 2016 (Week 93)

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I was sick in this photo. My companion took one just like it. We are pretty close to the mountains from where we work, and our sector technically extends to Argentina.

IMG_0115

We made hamburgers, which was reason enough to take group photos I suppose. Elder Alcantara, then my companion Elder Tintaya, then Elder Call, then me.

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 6.35.38 PM

From Elder Call’s mom.

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 6.36.00 PM

This week was a sick week for me.  Actually, it was a sick week for a lot of missionaries.  I was not able to work at full power every day, and in fact one day I needed to stay inside.  I was suffering from the common cold, which left me feeling weak and tired.  I’m at about 90% right now, with just a lot of noses being blown and coughs being… coughed.  It is just that time of the year, I think.

Not too much to say.  We are still contacting away.  Nobody is progressing, but there is a family that we have almost started working with.  My companion already knew two of the adult sons of the family, one of which is a less active convert from a couple of weeks ago, but this week it seemed that every time that we passed by the house, we contacted a different person, with a different need, and every time it was amazing.  We spoke with the son-in-law first (technically, he is co-habiting 🙁 [Wow.  I had no idea that gmail had so many emoticons]) who was very receptive.  Then, based on an impression from my companion, we went by again another day, and found the father, who was unbelievably receptive.  He was almost giving himself invitations, and when we spoke to him about the temple and I showed him a picture of you guys as an example of an eternal family, he wanted a specific date to be able to go.  Then, another day, we went by and spoke with another son, who initially was just friendly, but by the end of the contact opened up completely to us, telling us about is drug/alcohol addiction and accepting a blessing from us.  We hope to finally be able to be with all of them this Saturday.

I think that our perfecting of the missionary contact helped us a lot with that family.  The challenge with finding an awesome family like that is not screwing it up.  When you are in the habit of speaking with everything that moves and it’s pet, and you are so well practiced at knowing what to say thanks to the spontaneous nature of a contact, a missionary gets into a situation like that and it just kind of flows together.  I am a firm believer that a missionary can do nothing to make missionary work go either fast or slower, however I do think that there are ways to make ourselves a better tool in the Lord’s hands, and contacting is certainly one of them.  Find when you teach, teach when you find.

I’ve got a few pictures to send to make up for the lame email.  Love you all!

Elder Mathewson

Leave a Reply

