January 5, 2016 (Week 82)

The District and the Zone.  We are almost 100% Sister missionaries, with literally the minimum number of elders.

The District and the Zone. We are almost 100% Sister missionaries, with literally the minimum number of elders.

CIMG0257

Our leadership in the Zone.  The other Canadian, Elder Middleton, who is my Zone leader, is the one on the far left in the tie and the blonde hair.

Our leadership in the Zone. The other Canadian, Elder Middleton, who is my Zone leader, is the one on the far left in the tie and the blonde hair.

I am glad that you got back home safe and sound.  Happy New Year to you too.  Never was a very big deal in our house.  Just kind of thing that happened.  Ours was very uneventful.  Last year, I was in the top floor of a 4 story building in a community of normal houses, but this year we are in a normal condominium, which makes it so that we are plastered right up to the other house right beside us, so unlike last year, I didn’t see even 1 firework.  We heard a lot, obviously, but we were all in bed when it happened and I actually slept pretty well.

We did very little this week.  The majority of the people here is Santiago our on their vacations.  The culture here is work very hard (minimum 10 hours a day, 7 days a week) for the entire year, just to take a giant vacation far away, usually in the South of Chile, where they go to visit the rivers and lakes, or the beach.  So, most of our investigaters are gone for all of January, and a few have left for all of Summer, and won’t get back until March.  Whatever.

As I am now officially in the year of when I will be going home, I have been meditating a good deal in how to take advantage of my mission and the time I have left.  I heard one time that the way a person finishes a run the the morning is an indicater of how he finishes all things in his life.  I try to be the kind of person that finished running faster than I was running when I started, and I am going to try to do that for the rest of my mission.  One thing that I have thought of that I have not been doing very well during my mission is long term goals.  I always set short term goals (admittedly, mostly because I am required to do so), but I almost never set any goals that are for a longer time span than a week.  So, I started working on my long- term goals, and I hope that this will make my short term goals more significant.

Love you all. 

Elder Mathewson

Leave a Reply

