August 4, 2015 (Week 61)

I was having stomach problems at that time, and not only that night did we get home 30 minutes late because of all of the food we ate, but the next day my stomach ache quadrupled and I made friends with the bathroom during church, just during the day that President came to speak.  Fun times as a missionary.

I was having stomach problems at that time, and not only that night we got home 30 minutes late because of all of the food we ate, but the next day my stomach ache quadrupled and I made friends with the bathroom during church, just during the day that President came to speak. Fun times as a missionary.

Another one from the temple trip that we just barely got to do.

Another one from the temple trip that we just barely got to do.

Last photo with the best of Tobalaba.

Last photo with the best of Tobalaba.

Elder Morby and I in the house of Fam. Vidal.  From Jarvier's phone. (new missionary that Elder Mathewson had for the night)

Elder Morby and I in the house of Fam. Vidal. From Jarvier’s phone. (new missionary that Elder Mathewson had for the night)

20150728_215525

First photo with my new comp.  There has been two people that have said so far that we look like brothers.

First photo with my new comp. There has been two people that have said so far that we look like brothers.

Photo from my birthday.  The family didn't know it was my birthday until after we had eaten, which is why all the food is already eaten.  I did get a little celebration, where I got to eat some eggs on bread and que-que, which is more or less a cake (the meal was a lot better than it sounds) and the family gave me some socks (every little boy's fantasy gift.)  Interesting way to turn 20.

Photo from my birthday. The family didn’t know it was my birthday until after we had eaten, which is why all the food is already eaten. I did get a little celebration, where I got to eat some eggs on bread and que-que, which is more or less a cake (the meal was a lot better than it sounds) and the family gave me some socks (every little boy’s fantasy gift.) Interesting way to turn 20.

I’m in the south again!  This time, I’m in Puente Alto, which is the last stake of the mission.  I am in a ward named Chayavientos, sector B.  My new comp is named Elder Young, a Chilean (his name comes from Ireland.  His great great grandfather that moved to Chile, and he is the most gringo-looking Chilean that I have ever seen.  He has only been out for 1 change, meaning that I’m finishing his training with him.  I’m a mother!  I’m also a district leader now!  I have two other sectors: Los Prados, which has Elder Musante who is training Elder Smith, and Puente Alto 1 A, which has Elder Aurich with Elder Juarez, who was in my zone in Gabriela back in the day.  AND guess who my zone leader is?  None other than my old CCM comp, Elder Barton.  Elder Turner is also Zone leader.

Tuesday last week was sad.  We spent the day saying goodbye to everyone we could, but we could’t say goodbye to everyone we wanted.  We had to leave at 6 to get to the offices of the church so that we could take two new missionaries to our sector to do visits with us and sleep the night.  It took a long time to get out of there.  They were a little behind in the interviews, and we didn’t get to leave until 8ish.  Luckily, Javier could give us a ride and we got to do one last Family Night.  Elder Torpoco already had one planned, so I took the new Elder Morby with me and we went to Fam. Vidal to do an emergency one.  I managed to gather up everyone important, including Lilly, Ignacio, Antonia, Javier, Brian, Hno Moises, Vitiali, and Franco, and we shared for a bit and only were missing the Hna Claudia Vidal.  I’m glad that I got that one last chance to meet up with them.

That night I stayed up until 1:00 packing, and got up at 5:30 to finish packing and leave for changes.  That was in Trinidad, like normal, but this time it was in the chapel.  President first gave us a talk about seeking revelation, and then he did changes for the whole dang mission.  Like, literally all 200 something missionaries were there.  There was about 15 white-washed sectors (including mine), and all but 10 companionships had changes.  After getting all organized, we had one last meeting for the district leaders and the zone leaders, and then we would leave.  It was pretty dang hectic.

This week has been interesting.  There has been a couple of families that recognized me from my time in El Castillo, and everyone I talk to gets nervous just when I talk about the place.  This new sector is really quiet, with hardly anything dangerous.  It is probably twice as big as El Castillo, but I’d say 8 times smaller than Tobalaba.  I’m finding being with Elder Young interesting as well.  He is 24 and has almost finished up in university to be a high-school level teacher of Math.  He is very mature and very smart, and I am finding that I am having the opposite problem that I had with Elder Granda, where before I had to be constantly helping him and correcting him and showing him why something would be a bad idea to do or how we can do it better, now I am having that happen to me.  I honestly don’t feel like I am training him, but just the opposite.  I feel like he is training me.  The language is a problem again.  Not with him, so much.  Every once in a while, he speaks so fast that I have no idea what he says, but usually it’s fine.  The problem is that he speaks well, and by comparison, my Spanish is very weak, making the members and investigators focus on it and comment on it.  It embarraces me a little.  I know all the grammer, but my accent is bad, and I don’t know how to fix it.

There is a lot of promise in the sector.  I’ll give you a better idea of how things are going next week.

Love, Elder Mathewson

Also, before I forget, next week we have p-day on Wednesday, and then it will be Tuesday again.

Leave a Reply

