July 13, 2015 (Week 58)

Here is a picture of Elder Granda and I on an autumn street during some of the rain.

Here is a picture of Elder Granda and I on an autumn street during some of the rain.

This week was a little different, because Elder Granda got really sick and we had to stay in the pension for 4 days.  Not complete days except for 1, but we definitely worked less than normal.  We aren’t 100% sure what happened, but we think that it was something that he ate. He started feeling sick on Monday, after having eaten 4 sausages with 6 eggs, cheese and doritos, all mixed together in one slimy goo.  I ate a little of it and I didn’t get sick, so I think that it was just from eating way too much garbage.  He had a bad stomach ache on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday until he finally called the mission nurse and by her suggestion bought a pill that completely knocked him on his back, making his stomach stop hurting, only to be replaced by his head, back, and “bones”, so that all of Thursday we stayed in.  Needless to say, I drew a lot.  I also got to clean the pension, do laundry, and extra studies.  I am a little ashamed to say it, but I kind of enjoyed it.  Elder Granda, less so.

Speaking of the pension, supposedly they finished with it.  At least we aren’t sleeping on the ground any more, but they still have some details that they haven’t done in the bathroom.  I am a little worried that they will never get done at this point.

We had interviews with President Morgan this week.  I like him.  He seems like a very good person.  His wife is a little more serious, but he is exactly the kind of person you would expect to have studied acting in college.

It has started raining here in Santiago.  It hasn’t rained here for, like, 5 months, and it was the driest that it has been here is 100 years or something like that.  The rain is badly needed.  Here is a picture of Elder Granda and I on an autumn street during some of the rain.  We went with a youth in the ward that is reactivating, and we walked the poor kids feet off.

Other than that, not much to say.  I can say that I was a little surprised by our numbers by the end of the week: for new investigators, we put 5 as a goal, and by the end of the week, we had 4.  I don’t know exactly how we found 4 new investigators, but I was impressed considering everything that happened.  I think that it is pretty obvious that our new investigators didn’t have too much to do with us.

Love you all.

Elder Mathewson

Leave a Reply

