June 1, 2015 (Week 52) Hump Week!

 

Zone Conference.  This is the last one I will have with President Wright.

Zone Conference. This is the last one I will have with President Wright.

We also drank alcohol free beer.  It was disgusting.  I have absolutely no desire now to drink the real thing.  I always thought beer smelled a little like apple juice, but turns out, it tastes of pure bitter.

We also drank alcohol free beer. It was disgusting. I have absolutely no desire now to drink the real thing. I always thought beer smelled a little like apple juice, but turns out, it tastes of pure bitter.

Pig's Feet

Pig’s Feet

I ate pig feet!  It was super weird, definitely grosser than blood sausage.  There are a few levels of grossness that people buy the things in, and I got one of the mild ones.  What they do is they come without skin, sawed in half lenght wise, and well cooked in a stew, so that they are good and soft.  Sometimes they come just as a foot without getting cut in half, which means you don´t have a good place to start biting in, sometimes not cooked so well, which means that they are hard and rubbery, and sometimes, with the skin still on, which means (duh-duh-duh) HAIR!  Even so, they were pretty nasty.  You eat them one bone at a time, putting it in your mouth and sucking off all of the meat and cartilage and whatever else, then spitting it out on another plate.  The flavour was good, but I was distracted the whole time by the fact that I was eating pig feet, which gave me the creeps, and it left a strange, sticky residue on my lips and my mouth. 

We also drank alcohol free beer.  It was disgusting.  I have absolutely no desire now to drink the real thing.  I always thought beer smelled a little like apple juice, but turns out, it tastes of pure bitter.

We got to go into a hospital to give a woman a blessing.  The Military Hospital of Santiago is in our sector, and I have walked by it almost every day for 6 months without once setting foot into it, so I had a kind of morbid excitement.  Her daughters called the other missionaries of our ward, who called us and gave us her room number.  It was kind of sad, going there.  I don’t know if she has died, but it wouldn’t surprise me, because she was definitely looking like she was breathing her last.  We didn’t stay too long.

Javier got confirmed.  Pretty excited for him.  I think he will be a very strong member.

Elder Mathewson.

Leave a Reply

