April 20, 2015 (Week 46)

Ignacio, Elder Granda and I in front of the chapel right before his baptism

Ignacio, Elder Granda and I in front of the chapel right before his baptism

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ignacio's mom, Lilly, who was absolutely CRUCIAL to his getting baptized, and his sister, Antonia.

Ignacio’s mom, Lilly, who was absolutely CRUCIAL to his getting baptized, and his sister, Antonia.

I have finally seen my first baptism in the sector in which I am currently working!  Ignacio didn’t flake out on us (I have heard of that happening before, where in the last minute the investigator cancels.)

While we were getting ready, everything that could go wrong went wrong.  Yesterday was the first cold day in the whole month, and, tuh-duh! there was no gas in the whole chapel.  If you remember, a few weeks ago I told a story of how we were going to eat at the chapel, but there was no gas, so we went instead to a member’s house, and gave them a blessing.  Well, apparently, they still hadn’t fixed the problem.  There was a leak in the line, making it so that there wasn’t enough pressure to get the propane from the tank out back to the chapel up front. (honestly, only in Chile.  First world country, third world problems.)  So, we had to fill the font with cold water.  Then, we found out that, tuh-duh!, both the member that was going to baptize Ignacio and Ignacio had colds!  That made us feel really good, making them stand in waste-deep cold water like that.  Their parents, too.  Franco Vidal, son of the parents who’s house we used to teach the lessons, did the ordinance, and both him and Lilly were a little annoyed at us.  Luckily, they didn’t know about the cockroaches we found and had to scoop out of the font, and only the kids saw all the hair floating around.  I felt really bad once they got in the water, because they were groaning vocally and had to take a moment to get used to it before doing the ordinance.  The worst part was that on the first try, Ignacio’s foot left the water, so they had to dunk him again.

The actual service turned out quite nice.  I really liked how supportive the youth were in it.  All the boys sang for him as a special number with Vaitiala (the daughter of Fam. Vidal) playing the violin.  And, he had a lot of family that showed up to support.  That made me very happy.  His sister came, which is very cool, because she wasn’t really all that receptive before.

Seeing Ignacio being baptized… was an interesting experience for me.  Like I said before, I really don’t feel like I had that much to do with his conversion, other than helping plan things out and teaching the lessons.  But I think I have come to love the guy more than I realized, because when he went under the water, I felt something special.  It was like when I received my call, where I felt a weight being put on my shoulders.  When Ignacio got baptized, I felt a shift of that same weight.

I also have good news about Javier.  He is getting married!  He has a date for the 16th of May, or, in other words, he has a date to be baptized!  24th of May.  He went to the baptism.  I don’t know what he thought about it.  We’ll be talking to him this week.  I’d also like to know how Ignacio is feeling.  He was really happy when he got baptized, along with his mom and all his Mormon family, but spiritual highs are generally followed by spiritual lows, which might be hard for him.

I never thought I would be sending one of these cliche photos, but here it is: Ignacio, Elder Granda and I in front of the chapel right before his baptism.  The other one is his mom, Lilly, who was absolutely CRUCIAL to his getting baptized, and his sister, Antonia.

Elder Mathewson.

Leave a Reply

