March 23, 2015 (Week 42)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We took two converts to the temple to do baptisms on Thursday.  There are two more that we have, but we couldn’t get them to get their names ready in time, and we can only go if they have their names ready.  Mission rules.  They weren’t that excited to go anyways.  This was all for the Ward Conference we had.  It was pretty successful.  I think about 40 people came, with 2 of them to be endowed and an old couple that had the goal to get to the temple one more time before the male part got too sick (the couple we had lunch with a while ago that prayed us there).

The boy is called Brian, and the lady is called Yudith (Jew-deet).  Yudith is actually almost an old enough convert that she will be able to receive her endowments.  June, right around when I turn one mission year old.  Brian is really cool.  He was baptized in September, and we are pretty sure that he will go on a mission.  He is really strong in the gospel and the church, even with the opposition from his parents.  As of Thursday, he is pretty much caught up to the point that all the other youth are.

The baptismal font in the Santiago Temple is really cool.  It has a beautiful painting of the baptism of Jesus, and like the Cardston temple, everyone sits around the font, instead of in an extra room like the Calgary temple, but the font is below everyone, so one can see what is going on the whole time.  I really liked it.

An interesting phenomenon that happened with with the names.  I remember that when we had our youth activities, the leaders some times struggled with the Spanish names they had to read.  Well, that happens here too.  It’s understandable, actually.  I got to confirm some people, and there was some LONG names.

We did our deep cleaning to finish up the change (we are both staying here, but there was a lot of changes in the zone) and it was an adventure.  I did the kitchen last time and got it pretty good, so this time I moved to the patio, which hasn’t been cleaned in no one knows how long.  It was fine for the most part.  I found a lot of old boots that elders had left over the years, but the highlight was the poop.  Pidgin poop.  There was a lot of it.  I live on the top floor, so they poop directly onto our deck.  I actually didn’t clean it very well; I kind of lost motivation and slacked off.

Second part was our old fridge.  That is a picture of Elder Torpoco (Zone leader from Peru) using the fan we had our to blow the nasty, rancid air at me while I cleaned.  I smelled really bad.  (If you remember, that fridge broke and we had to get it changed.  We ended up just leaving it there for a whole change until we finally walked it downstairs and left it on the side of the street for a member to pick up.)

Thirdly: Arañas!  I started on the living room by the patio, and I pulled the couches away from the wall to vacuum, and we found at last 7 recluse spiders on the wall and in the couches.  Big ones, too.  They were actually in the couch, which freaked us out because we spend a lot of time sitting on them, so we got on all the clothes we could and threw them away.  Our pension is now a lot more bare, but at least it is safe.

We got in a lot of trouble from the administrator for leaving our stuff out.  It’s the common Chilean practice to throw things away, but she started leaving strongly worded notices and telling us if we didn’t get rid of them that next day… well, I’m not actually sure what she would have done to us.  But I’m sure it wouldn’t have been pretty.

Elder Mathewson

We did our deep cleaning to finish up the change and it was an adventure.  Here is the patio, which hasn´t been cleaned in no one knows how long.  It was fine for the most part.  I found a lot of old boots that elders had left over the years, but the highlight was the poop.  Pidgen poop.  There was a lot of it.  I live on the top floor, so they poop directly onto our deck.  I actually didn´t clean it very well; I kind of lost motivation and slacked off.

We did our deep cleaning to finish up the change and it was an adventure. Here is the patio, which hasn´t been cleaned in no one knows how long. It was fine for the most part. I found a lot of old boots that elders had left over the years, but the highlight was the poop. Pidgen poop. There was a lot of it. I live on the top floor, so they poop directly onto our deck. I actually didn´t clean it very well; I kind of lost motivation and slacked off.

This was our old fridge.  That is a picture of Elder Torpoco (Zone leader from Peru) using the fan we had  to blow the nasty, rancid air at me while I cleaned.  I smelled really bad.  (If you remember, that fridge broke and we had to get it changed.  We ended up just leaving it there for a whole change until we finally walked it downstairs and left it on the side of the street for a member to pick up.)

This was our old fridge. That is a picture of Elder Torpoco (Zone leader from Peru) using the fan we had to blow the nasty, rancid air at me while I cleaned. I smelled really bad. (If you remember, that fridge broke and we had to get it changed. We ended up just leaving it there for a whole change until we finally walked it downstairs and left it on the side of the street for a member to pick up.)

Arañas!  I started on the living room by the patio, and I pulled the couches away from the wall to vacuum, and we found at least 7 recluse spiders on the wall and in the couches.  Big ones, too.  They were actually in the couch, which freaked us out because we spend a lot of time sitting on them, so we got on all the clothes we could and threw them away.  Our pension is now a lot more bare, but at least it is safe.

Arañas! I started on the living room by the patio, and I pulled the couches away from the wall to vacuum, and we found at least 7 recluse spiders on the wall and in the couches. Big ones, too. They were actually in the couch, which freaked us out because we spend a lot of time sitting on them, so we got on all the clothes we could and threw them away. Our pension is now a lot more bare, but at least it is safe.

Leave a Reply

