October 6, 2014 (Week 18)

From conference - I was at the head of the table the whole time, which was awesome.  Not only was it really easy to take notes and watch, but I felt like I was in charge at some board meeting with a person talking to us over telecom or something.  Awesome, basically.

From conference – I was at the head of the table the whole time, which was awesome. Not only was it really easy to take notes and watch, but I felt like I was in charge at some board meeting with a person talking to us over telecom or something. Awesome, basically.

In our mission, conference weekend is actually the two biggest highlights that come on a regular basis for us. Not only did we get to watch it, but we got to watch it in the high council room IN ENGLISH. When the two speakers spoke in Spanish, we ran into the the chapel to listen to them without the dubbing. And during the breaks, we got to eat a lot of snacks. So yeah, we had a fun time. I also think that last conference was the best for me as far as a spiritual high. I think I ended up taking about 12 or 13 pages of notes, and I was totally blown away by a few of the talks, especially the one by that 70 from the Ukraine with the weird accent on Saturday. His talk defined “Dar Palos.” I was actually pretty sorry it was over. It was like Christmas, after all the wrappers are on the ground in a papery carnage and you lost the high a little.

No big miracles yet. We may have to change the baptismal date for our one investigator because she isn´t progressing quite fast enough, but we may have found a new solution for Luis. He actually has a radio, so we are going to download the Book of Mormon on CD and he can listen to it. If it works, we will be very excited.

We have had some weird stuff happen in our sector. Nothing personally dangerous or anything. Firstly, we actually had a fake bomb threat. We were coming home and I was feeling kind of paranoid for no good reason, and when we got to the main road, Juanita, we saw the road closed off and a ton of police lights. We heard that there was a backpack up in a tree. There has been a few bomb threats in Santiago in the last month or so, mostly involving the Metro, which is probably partly why the police were taking so many precautions. We don´t know what happened with that.

Then today as we were going to get our hair cut, and a man approached us and told us “Estoy en camino a matar alguien” which means “I´m on my way to kill someone.” His mom apparently had told him to go kill someone, and he was asking us to take the two kitchen knives he had under his shirt back to his mom and soothe her or something. He smelled really strongly of alcohol, so we aren´t actually sure if his mom really said that. He also gave us his full name and address, so if he turns into a problem we may need to call the cops. And, I guess in theory, we saved someone´s life today, so that´s cool.

Anyways, hope that doesn´t make you worried. I´m safe, I feel safe. In fact, I´ve been feeling really good lately, maybe because of conference and because as of today I am now officially not a new missionary, just a Junior Companion.

Elder Mathewson

Leave a Reply

