September 22, 2014 (Week 16)

Today is send-tons-of-pictures-to-mom day. Last weekend was the 18th, which in Chile is their day of independence. It´s actually 4 days long, and the average Chilean gains 3 kilos in this time. That means the average missionary gains about 8. We were expecting a lot of food, but really, we didn´t eat that much. I think it was because I´m in the ghetto, and people want to get out of their homes, not invite family over. In fact, our weekend was really boring. Nobody was out on the 18th and 19th except for drunks and drug addicts, and everyone was hung over on Saturday, so we couldn´t visit anyone and we couldn´t street contact either. That means we walked a lot.

Something I drew in my planner on the 18th.  Party on.

Something I drew in my planner on the 18th. Party on.

A calle that I felt safe to take a picture of.  It's looking a little...Chile over there.  Sorry, that was for Jordan's benefit.

A calle that I felt safe to take a picture of. It’s looking a little…Chile over there. Sorry, that was for Jordan’s benefit.

Familia Vargas are members, but only the two oldest there actually attend church.  They want to go to the temple so we meet with them.  They also gave us lunch on the 18th.  That flag I'm taking home.  Also, not sure if you've met my comp, Elder See.  Everyone say Hola to Elder See.

Familia Vargas are members, but only the two oldest there actually attend church. They want to go to the temple so we meet with them. They also gave us lunch on the 18th. That flag I’m taking home. Also, not sure if you’ve met my comp, Elder See. Everyone say Hola to Elder See.

Familia Santias are investigators, and he is very likely to be baptized, although we don't actually have a date for him.  I drew a Spiderman for their kid because he literally is in love with Spiderman.  Spiderman shoes, spiderman shirts, and in Christman, a Spiderman bike, apparently.

Familia Santias are investigators, and he is very likely to be baptized, although we don’t actually have a date for him. I drew a Spiderman for their kid because he literally is in love with Spiderman. Spiderman shoes, spiderman shirts, and in Christman, a Spiderman bike, apparently.

Here is the food we got.  Add 4 empanadas to that as well.  It's also quite typical to eat this food exactly at this time of year in Chile.  In fact, if you ever think about visiting Chile again, I'd suggest coming during the 18th.  The food is really good, and they have all kinds of festivals.  Just take the Metro, because the death rate also goes up because of drunk driving.

Here is the food we got. Add 4 empanadas to that as well. It’s also quite typical to eat this food exactly at this time of year in Chile. In fact, if you ever think about visiting Chile again, I’d suggest coming during the 18th. The food is really good, and they have all kinds of festivals. Just take the Metro, because the death rate also goes up because of drunk driving.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is the drawing I did for Lucas Santias.  I finished it today. and probably before I give it to him I'll sign it, more for the benefit of his parents than him.  He's 6, after all.

Here is the drawing I did for Lucas Santias. I finished it today. and probably before I give it to him I’ll sign it, more for the benefit of his parents than him. He’s 6, after all.

I think I might get to go to the temple here soon. My comp will complete 1 year on Thursday, and wants to get together with all of his old CCM friends and celebrate. I just tag along so he can do it, but I´m grateful for the opportunity. We get to go once a year, and going about half way from when I got here to year´s end is appropriate.

I hope that was enough. I´ll have a lot to write about next week, trust me. We may have a couple of baptisms in 3 more weeks. Who knows.

Elder Mathewson

One thought on “September 22, 2014 (Week 16)

Leave a Reply

