July 8, 2014 (Week 5)

Elder Mathewson post alpaca store visit

Elder Mathewson post alpaca store visit

El Tres Nefitas - the 3 Nephites (the only three gringos, our district and companionship)

El Tres Nefitas – the 3 Nephites (the only three gringos, our district and companionship)

DSC00160+

I am now on my last week. We transfer to our mission on Tuesday morning. Unfortunately, that means I miss p-day. I do not know if I will be able to email. I guess if you get one from me, you´ll know. Also, I was wondering if you could send me a family photo. I don´t particularly care which one. Choose one that you like. I realized I don´t have one, and I also learned that it is an excellent teaching tool, as showing investigators a photo is a great way for them to warm up to you.

As I approach the end of my time in the CCM, I realize I actually am a little nervous for getting out into the field. We were with our Maestro, Hermano Torres, and we were learning a new technique that my companionship and I had to start doing to teach. It is where whoever is speaking only speaks for a minute, and maintains eye contact with the investigator the whole time. As he speaks, the companion watches the speaker. When the speaker finishes, he looks over at his companion, and the companion looks at the investigator, testifies about what was just said, and continues teaching. It requires complete attention to both the spirit and everyone who is speaking, and there in lies my problem: I can´t understand Chileans. They talk like hummingbirds on caffeine, and I´m not even getting to the hear the fastest in Chile. I am worried that my companion is going listen, discern and teach, then turn to me and I won´t understand a word of what was said.

Not that I´m not excited to get out. Next week we will be proselyting in a park in Santiago Norte, and the day after that we will be going on splits to actually teach people. Next week is going to fly by.

Some funny stories. The CCM has taken to calling my companions and I ‘El Tres Nefitas´, or the three Nephites. It works pretty well, considering we came as the only three gringos and our district is only out companionship.

Also, I drew Alcantara for Elder Gilbert. He is normally a very stoic guy, but we could all tell it touched him deeply. He scanned it and will be sending it, but I will give you a picture of it in the mean time.

Elder Mathewson

Alcantara - mission home ​THANK YOU ELDER MATHEWSON! THIS IS VERY SPECIAL TO US! Like anything that means a lot to you--you want to share it. This is your gift to us and our gift to everyone that knows and loves Alcantara. Thank you!!  Elder Gilbert PS That is why we serve the  Lord on missions.

Alcantara – mission home
​THANK YOU ELDER MATHEWSON! THIS IS VERY SPECIAL TO US!
Like anything that means a lot to you–you want to share it. This is your gift to us and our gift to everyone that knows and loves Alcantara. Thank you!! Elder Gilbert
PS That is why we serve the Lord on missions.

This guy´s name is Elder Bustemonte.  He was out on his mission 6 months, when he had an knee injury and came back to the CCM to get it checked out.  He was in our class, and he saw some of the portraits I was doing and asked me to do one for him.  Obviously, he like playing the guitar, as well as playing in his screamo band.  Pretty cool guy, overall.

This guy´s name is Elder Bustemonte. He was out on his mission 6 months, when he had an knee injury and came back to the CCM to get it checked out. He was in our class, and he saw some of the portraits I was doing and asked me to do one for him. Obviously, he like playing the guitar, as well as playing in his screamo band. Pretty cool guy, overall.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

a dragon

a dragon

Leave a Reply

